Abu Ja’far on Shaykh Abdullaah Azzam (rh)

15Mar10

From amongst the people of knowledge that Abu Ja’far claims to love and uphold is Abdullaah Azzam. Abu Ja’far states on his website ”Shaikh `Abdullah `Azzaam RH was an Azhar graduate, Shaafi`ii in Fiqh, Hanbali in creed, a major force in the Afghan campaign against the Russians in the 1970s and was martyred in the early 1980s. There is nothing to suggest (from the research done by HTS so far) that he is a cultist or believes in their theology.  If one should read his works, one will find his creed in fine order and his other principles perfectly sound according to what can be accessed and read from his works directly. Although he knew of Sayyid Qutb’s family and read some of his books, if one should cross reference, one does not see the glaring extremes that exist in Qutb’s works present in those of Azzaam’s.

However if one was to actually verify this claim, they would find that not only did Abdullaah Azzam openly adhere to the Salafi Aqidah, he also praised the leading Salafi scholars of our time such as Shaikh Bin Baaz Rahimaullaah.

On Shaykh Abdul-Aziz Ibn Abdullaah Ibn Baaz:
Ibn Baaz, his intellect is Salafi, and not a Hizbi (group-oriented), he is not into a ‘political-salafi party’. His intellect his Islaamic, his heart is Islaamic, his soul is Islaamic, so he loves Islaam wherever it may be, whether it is in the Ikhwaan or other than them. When the Jihaad in Syria appeared, he passed a Fatwa in Saudi, that it is permissible to collect money and zakaah for the Mujaahideen in Syria, and this affected the relations between the two countries, the relation of Syria with Saudi…

He heard that there is Jihaad in Afghanistan, he passed a Fatwa that Jihaad is Fardh ‘Ain (an obligation on every Muslim male and female like prayer and fasting) and he gave them money and so on… He heard that there are oppressed Muslims in certain part of this earth, so he passed a Fatwa against their ruler with that which he deserves through Islaam. He is eager in seeking the pleasure of Allaah and adhering to the Messenger – upon him be Salaah and Salaam…” (Fee Dhilaal Sooratit-Tawbah volume 1 page 117)”

You know that I am from al-Ikhwaan al-Muslimeen… But by Allaah! I do not equate to you a Muraaqib (the supervisor) nor a Murshid (lit. the guide – the leader of Ikhwaan al-Muslimeen). Indeed you are more beloved to me than the Murshid of al-Ikhwaan al-Muslimeen, and the Muraaqib of al-Ikhwaan al-Muslimeen, because I think that you have benefited Islaam more than them…”

“… then I said to him: ‘Indeed you are more beloved to me than my father and my mother’ – and practically he is more beloved to me than my father and mother, why? Because I think that there is good in him, and there is sincerity and benefit for the Muslims. That is how we think of him, and we do not claim his piety in front of Allah. The entire mankind in general benefits from him…”

“…So, I presented the fatwa to Shaykh Ibn Baz, and he agreed with it. May Allah bless his life. Shaykh Ibn Baz, Allah has truly given him insight, if He Wills, and Allah Knows best. Allah has benefited Islam and the Muslims through him more than most people, and Allah Knows best. I do not think that anyone on Earth has benefited – other than the rulers, those who possess millions – has benefited the Afghan Jihad like Shaykh Ibn Baz has, yes.”
[‘Fi Dhilal Surat at-Tawbah’; p. 171]

On the noble Shaykh Muhammad Ibn Salih al-Uthaymin:
As for the noble Shaykh Ibn Baaz and Ibn ‘Uthaymin, by Allah, I love them from the depths of my heart. I know their virtue in many of the affairs, especially Shaykh ‘Abd al-‘Aziz bin Baaz. I mean, he had a long hand in many of the affairs of Islam…By Allah, the truth is that I love Shaykh ‘Abd al-‘Aziz bin Baz more than I love my own mother and father, and this is what I said to him…”
[‘al-As’ilah wal-Ajwibah al-Jihadiyyah’; p. 95]

on Shaykh Naasirudin al-Albani:
“…The fourth hadith that was reported by the noble Shaykh al-Albani – I ask Allah to bless his life, and may Allah allow us to benefit from his knowledge – in truth, and in confirming that which is true and admitting that which is good, I am of those who studied at the hands of the Shaykh, and I benefited greatly from him in the areas of ‘Aqidah and researching texts – the authentic texts. Because of this, I shudder whenever I come across a weak hadith, as there is no way that I can place a weak hadith in any of my books. I cannot stand to do this! Subhan Allah, I took from him – may Allah reward him – even if I differ from him in many of the Fiqh opinions that he held. I do not agree with most of his Fiqh opinions, as he held many strange positions. However, in terms of Hadith, then I do not think that there is a single man on this Earth who is more knowledgeable in Hadith than him – our shaykh, Shaykh al-Albani. Likewise, ma Sha’ Allah on his ‘aqidah

And we add to this that he never befriended or compromised with the tawaghit, nor did he sell out on his religion, nor did he sell the verses of Allah for a small price. Yes, we differ with him in some of his opinions, and I do not accept many of his Fiqh opinions. As for Hadith, then if he tells me that this hadith is authentic, then I do not question it, yes. In truth, he is a Muhaddith; the most well-known living Muhaddith that we know of today, and Allah Knows best. However, this is not the reason that we love him or take from his knowledge of Hadith.

This book of his – ‘Sahih al-Jami” – does not leave my side most of the time; whether I am travelling or at home. I have a copy in my house, and I have a copy here (in the camp in Afghanistan). ‘Sahih al-Jami’ as-Saghir’ is basically a mini-manual of Hadith. I am saying that it is of the best of books after the Book of Allah, the Mighty and Majestic. Any hadith that might come to mind, you can open up this book and see if it is authentic or not.”
[
‘Fi Dhilal Surat at-Tawbah’; p. 177]

On the Salafis
“…You have no idea how these Salafis served Islam greatly by freeing the minds from outrageous ideas. I admit that the gratitude is for Allah firstly and lastly. However, Shaykh Nasir ad-Din al-Albani had a great effect on my thinking, in my beliefs, in clarifying my beliefs, in extracting the authentic texts, in researching. I cannot write a weak hadith in a single one of my books. So, I am Salafi in my belief and thought…”

[‘Fi Dhilal Surat at-Tawbah’; p. 51]

Whats all this then? Abdullaah Azzam saying he’s a Salafi? Did Abu Ja’far miss this or did he simply keep them from the public?

A clear Misquote of Abdullaah Azzam

Not along ago. Myself and Abu Ja’far had a discussion via email. During this discussion Abu Ja’far  (once cornered), claimed that Abdullaah Azzam was of the opinion that the Asharis and Maturidis are both Muslim Orthodoxy. Abu Ja’far said “…He had mentioned to us that his creed was that he accepted the Names and Atrributes without meaning, without how and that the second position is that of interpretation, namely the Maturidi and Ash`ari scholars and he defends them from charges of kufr and being astray. He did not just say they were Muslims, but that “they are both Muslim Orthodoxy.” Al-`Aqidah wa Atharuha fi Bina il-Jail, pp. 98-112“”

Brace yourselves! Abu Ja’far al-khathaab misquoted Abdullaah Azzam and lied on him! He claimed that Abdullaah azzam said that both the Asharis and Maturidis are ‘Muslim Orthodoxy’ and then quoted the ref which was a few pages long.

This is what Abdullaah Azzam actually said “And we believe that the Ash’aris are not disbelievers who have exited the fold of the Religion with their ta’wil. Rather, they are mistaken, especially since we know that many Muslim scholars throughout history engaged in such ta’wil, including a large number of the greatest scholars of Hadith, Tafsir, and Fiqh. Their reason for making ta’wil was to remove any imperfections from Allah. So, we hope that Allah will keep us firm on the truth, and that He Forgives the people of error and deviance.”
So Abdullaah Azzam did not consider them orthodox but rather mistaken! Funny thing is as soon as he was caught red handed. We didn’t hear from him again!
This is one example how fake he is.

More to come soon.

No Responses Yet to “Abu Ja’far on Shaykh Abdullaah Azzam (rh)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

